Skip to content
Home » The Four Elements in Astrology

The Four Elements in Astrology

Four Elements in Astrology

All 12 zodiac signs share distinct qualities and can be divided into four key elements. These are Fire, Earth, Water, and Air.

Fire Element

The Fire signs are Aries, Leo and Sagittarius. People with a dominant fire element in their birth chart often make good leaders. They are dynamic and tend to light up everything around them. Since fire needs air to exist, fire signs are most compatible with the air signs (Aquarius, Gemini and Libra). Water is anathema to fire, and a person with a dominant water element in their chart could try to depress the liveliness and eagerness that defines fire. These sorts of people tend to be very friendly and inspirational. They are passionate and often fiery. They are also risk-takers, and when in love, most of them give in to a passionate romance quickly.

Air Element

The Air signs are Aquarius, Gemini and Libra. They require freedom of movement and thought and do not like to be tied down. These people are generally talkative and verbally expressive. They enjoy learning new ideas, which tend to make them more communicative. Most of them are extroverts and enjoy being around people. On the negative side, they may lose control because their minds and thoughts travel so much up in the air that they lose a sense of reality. Those who do not have much air element in their natal chart may find it difficult to express themselves. As a result, communicating their ideas may prove to be a challenge to them.

Water Element

The water signs include Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces. They are deep thinkers of an emotional and sensitive nature. They are usually very good at keeping secrets, given their secretive emotions and abilities. The Water signs are most compatible with Earth signs (Capricorn, Taurus, Virgo). Emotionality and passion best describe people whose dominant element in the natal charts is water. They dislike being confined and have high artistic capabilities. Compassionate to other people’s feelings, they are very caring and giving. On the downside, some of them may exaggerate their feelings occasionally.

Earth Element

The Earth signs are Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn. They are stable, consistent, determined and can easily get attached to daily routines. While not as compassionate as the water signs, they are still very nurturing. They are most compatible with Water signs (Pisces, Cancer and Scorpio), as water is necessary for the earth to sustain living conditions. With their careful and practical approach to life, they are determined to create a solid foundation based on financial wealth and success. People with a dominant earth element are grounded and maybe more attuned to things that connect them to earth-like activities like gardening and pottery. Those with too much earth element in their birth chart may develop a tendency of being too greedy and fearful, which, as a result, may stop them from living their life to their fullest potential.

Read More